20 Questions Interview for Artists

Name: Michelle ‘Jinx’ Christensen
Age: 25
City: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Occupation: Graphic Artist/Student/Whatever.

1. What kind of art do you do?
Oh man, I guess I’m a multi-talented artist. I can do just about anything when I put my mind to (or at least when my muse decides not to be a lazy heifer and get to work.) I can paint, I like to draw, I can make models, I like designing and creating costume things like this giant pair of black  and peacock feather wings. They were magnificent.

2. How long have you done Art? Any big accomplishments?
Oh, I don’t know. My mom says I have been drawing and being creative forever. I’ve won a few competitions, have my AS in Graphic Design, and have been accepted to Temple University to go study art with teachers from the Tyler School of Art in Japan.

3. Do you make a living off your art?
Not currently. I’ve sold stuff and done more than a few jobs for people. But I wouldn’t say I bring in enough money to live off it. lol

4. What project are you working on now?
Nothing in particular I guess, art wise, the biggest thing thats taking up my time lately has been getting ready to go to Tokyo to start working on my BA in Arts.

5. What are the 3 most indispensable items in your studio?
Uuuuh, probably my gummy eraser, tech-pencil, and my laptop.

6. What sparked your interest causing you to pursue a career in Art?
I feel like that’s the only thing I’m really good at? Why wouldn’t I?

7. What is your favorite project that you have done to date?
Hmm, that’s a really tough question. I think possibly

8. What would be your dream job?
Oh man, that’s a long answer. All I can say is that it’s a big dream.

9. If you couldn’t be an artist what would you like to do for a living?
Oh I don’t know, Fascist Dictator of the World sounds good.

10. Where are you finding ideas for your work these days?
It actually hops out at me in the strangest places. Many times while I’m listening to music.

11. Do you have any specific ways to keep your muse going while working?
I feed it dark chocolate covered pomegranate… when that doesn’t work, I threaten it with beatings until moral improves.

12. Who is another artist that you look up to? Why?
There are so many. I think Chris Sanders, Marta Dahlig, Kirk Quilaquil a.k.a. Ninjatic, Daniela Uhlig, and Christy Grandjean a.k.a. Goldenwolf. Are just a few of MANY many artist I admire.

13. What are the best/worst parts of being an Artist?
The best part is being able to make something that wows people. The worst thing is probably just that whole ‘your own worst enemy’ adage. If you’re an artist, its likely that you are quite literally your own worst critic. We will say things to ourselves that no critic would dare. 

14. What international art destination do you most want to visit?
Tokyo, epicenter of modern pop art. Leavin in a month 😀

15. What’s your favorite place to see art?
Here, it’s the Minneapolis Institute of Art.

16. Do you have a gallery/museum-going routine?
Not really…?

17. What’s the weirdest thing you ever saw happen in a museum or gallery?
There’s a room at the MIA that has a cold draft in it and no one can figure out where it’s from. Very odd.

18. What’s your favorite post-gallery watering hole or restaurant?
I don’t exactly have a ‘post-gallery’ place. But one of the small cafes round town would do.

19. What’s your art-world pet peeve?
Hearing, “Oh, I’ve done stuff like that.” Even if you can or have… don’t say it. It’s just rude.

20. What would be your advice to anyone wanting to pursue an Artist career?
If you really want to? Do it. It probably won’t be easy, so you better be sure that’s what you want to do.

[Bonus Questions!]

21. What do you enjoy doing in your spare time, for fun?
Oh, lots of stuff. I like video games, reading, writing. I’m pretty boring.

22. Do you collect anything?
Books, I’ve got SO many books.

23. What work(s) of art do you wish you owned?
Some original Japanese woodblock prints.

24. What’s the last artwork you purchased?
Hmmm, a print I got signed by Goldenwolf.

25. What’s the last great book you read?
I re-read A Feast for Crows.

26. What was the last movie you saw in the theater? How was it?
Pirates of the Caribbean on Stranger Tides. Eh, it was good. lol Better than the last one.

27. What are your top 5 favorite albums?

  • Staind – The Illusion of Progress
  • LM.C – Gimmical☆Impact!!
  • The GazettE – DIM
  • Shinedown – The Sound of Madness
  • Miyavi – 咲き誇る華の様に [Maxi]

28. What is your favorite song of all time?
I have NO idea…

29. What is your favorite food/drink combo?
Combo? Uh… I don’t really have a combo, I guess though…  cold Milk and warm cookies. Om nom nom.

30. What would be your best “life advice” to the readers of this interview?
Figure out what you want to do with your life. Once you know what you want, you find out how you get it, then getting it is that much easier.

~ by RandomHighjinx on June 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
